Supporting HIV care through education and innovation

ACA Implementation and the Border

ACA Implementation and the Border

Event Date: Thursday, May 30, 2013 (All day)

Event Type: Webinar/Online Event

Description

This AETC/Federal Training Center Collaborative webinar will focus on ACA implementation on the US/Mexico border, specifically: HIV, STDs, TB, addiction, and family planning concerns.  

At the end of the workshop, participants will be able to:

  • Discuss the importance of understanding ACA implementation for Texas, California, Arizona, and New Mexico, and how it will impact border communities and people living with HIV, TB, and other conditions.
  • Utilize U.S. federal training centers as ACA implementation resources.
  • Review key dates for ACA implementation.
  • Understand, through case discussions, how ACA will extend new health insurance benefits.
  • Improve HIV patients' engagement in high quality HIV care as systems change.
  • Obtain informational and referral resources for ACA implementation in the border region.

Two 1.5 hour webinar sessions will be offered:

  • Webinar 1: May 30 (9a Pacific / 10a Mountain / 11a Central / 12p Eastern)
  • Webinar 2: May 30 at (12p Pacific / 1p Mountain / 2p Central / 3p Eastern)

CME/CE credits available.

To register, email jpeisinger@mednet.ucla.edu and indicate in the subject line registration for either webinar 1 or 2.